Make a note…

Notebook.jpgpic courtesy paperocks a.k.a. evalinda

Writing this article on the 08.34 train to Waterloo – in my ‘field’ notebook, not on my iphone nor my MacBook. I wanted to write it because I have spent an inordinate and certainly unwarranted amount of time thinking about, purchasing and then using a variety of pens, notebooks and to a lesser degree electronic devices.

Notebooks are now definitely both a fashion statement and a common accessory for many people. And although I have just been momentarily distracted by a man wearing a Fedora hat and an ink-spider (another post) I have just two things to say:

1. The search for the perfect notebook is probably like the search for Grail – a lifelong journey of hope. It’s never quite there and once we realise the nature of the quest, we focus less on the item itself.

2. Moleskine, like The Da Vinci code is mostly made up –

“The modern Moleskine is fashioned after Bruce Chatwin’s descriptions of the notebooks he used and is not a direct descendant of the original moleskine…Although Moleskine srl claims their notebook has been used by well-known artists and writers, such as Picasso, Matisse, and Hemingway, the brand Moleskine was officially registered only in 1996. Francesco Franceschi, head of Modo & Modo’s marketing department, was quoted as saying, “It’s an exaggeration. It’s marketing, not science. It’s not the absolute truth.”[1]” Wikipedia

More usefully I did find this brilliant site:

http://www.blackcover.net/

Which is a ‘grail quest’ search for the perfect little black notebook.

For the ‘too far gone” to ever see it as just a thing in which to scribble shit… http://www.notebookism.com/.

I came damned close.

notes copy copy.jpg

I have a ‘field’ set-up for my pocket, pretty much anywhere etc. which is a Croxley A6 hardcover notebook – cost about 40p and a Mitsubishi Uni-ball 157 about 1.00 pound. Yes that’s right anti-fashion…but not quite a hipster.

I also have an ‘office/meeting’ set-up for work etc. which is a Mont Blanc and an A5 notebook (white – we made them at lunch.) Yes, white (sadly my last one) but it will be time very soon to begin looking for a replacement…..Oh God….

Yea, but I will not fear the valley of the notebook for I have the following to guide me:

From Hugh Macleod’s ‘Thoughts on how to be Creative‘:

“10. The more talented somebody is, the less they need the props.

Meeting a person who wrote a masterpiece on the back of a deli menu would not surprise me. Meeting a person who wrote a masterpiece with a silver Cartier fountain pen on an antique writing table in an airy SoHo loft would SERIOUSLY surprise me.”

From Seth Godin’s ‘I need to build a house what type of hammer should I buy?’:

“If you want to do something worth doing, you’ll need two things: passion and architecture. The tools will take care of themselves.”

Let me write that down…

Leave a Reply

